GPS Tracks

michauxoffroadendurance.tcx
File Size: 5594 kb
File Type: tcx
Download File

michauxoffroadsuperd.tcx
File Size: 169 kb
File Type: tcx
Download File

Results

The Michaux Off-Road Weekend hosted a series of fun and challenging fat tire events over the past few days.  Saturday's event's kicked off with a fund-raiser ride for Brian Fults, who continues his battle with cancer.  Brian is a really great guy and a true inspiration to the local mountain bike community.  If you didn't get the chance to make it to the benefit pre-ride check out  The Bulldog Benefit Bonanza.  Following the pre-ride was a Super D race down Canada Hollow, which is arguably one of the best decents in the forest, which offers enough of a challenge to keep you on your toes at all times, but mild enough to rip from top to bottom on any xc rig.  The splits were tight and I was happy to finish in 6th approximately 20 seconds behind race winner Matt Miller.  Day 2 of the Michaux Off Road Weekend entitled a 4 hour race which covered a highly technical 6.5 mile loop that would include 1,200' of elevation gain per lap!  From the start Rob Spreng and I tore off the front separating ourselves from the rest of the field on the first major decent.  After that we had sometime to enjoy ourselves before Rob would make his first attack by the end of the third lap.  His attack put a dent in my fuel tank, but also gave me some motivation of my own to lay down an xc like effort on the very next lap.  Unable to separate myself from Rob, the two of us ramained close together until Rob made a small gap on me at the end of the 4th lap.  The distance would continue to grow between us on the following two laps which left me in 2nd place for the day.  It was a great end to a great weekend.  I'll be looking forward to racing my first XC race of the year next weekend at Greenbrier State Park.



Leave a Reply.